Google Translate Logo / Image
+ A

Electoral Board

Contact Us

Jan Yowell
General Registrar

300 E. Washington St.
Lexington, VA 24450
T: 540-462-3706
F: 540-463-5310

Monday - Friday
9 a.m. - 5 p.m.

Regular Meetings

  • Meets when needed







Member Three-Year Term End Date
Dorothy Blackwell, Secretary December 31, 2023
Nancy Sullivan, Chair
December 31, 2022
Vicki Turner, Vice-Chair
December 31, 2020

About the Board

The Electoral Board consists of three members. Two members represent the party that received the most votes in the prior gubernatorial election. The third member represents the party that received the second highest number of votes in the prior gubernatorial election. The appropriate political party must submit three names to the Circuit Court judges. The court appoints one person each year to serve a three-year term.


The Electoral Board appoints the voter registrar for a four-year term. It also appoints officers of election to work at the polls on election days. Additionally, the board conducts all general and special elections. After each election, it meets to canvass the vote for Lexington City and certifies the results to the State Board of Elections.